Monterey Regional Waste Management District

P & R W M D P & C Y C L E

Service, Stewardship, and Sustainability Since 1951

January 2017 Board of Directors Meeting

HIGHLIGHTS



<u>New Seaside Representative</u>. The Board welcomed new Director Jason Campbell, Seaside councilmember, who was appointed to the Board for a four-year term.

The Board adopted a resolution of appreciation for outgoing Board member Ian Oglesby and recognized Director Libby Downey for her 10 years of service on the District Board representing the City of Monterey.



Recognition of Employee Social Committee. The Social Committee was recognized by the Board on behalf of all District employees. The Social Committee did an amazing job organizing the annual employee recognition luncheon as well as many other events during 2016. Well Done!!

(Pictured left to right: HR Coordinator Sonia Martinez, Sales Clerk II Christina Harris, Assistant Mechanic George Sayre, Recycling Attendant Holly Yanez, Public Education and Outreach Specialist Angela Goebel, Operations Support Specialist Regina Santa Cruz, HR Manager Berta Torres, MRF Operator II Israel Hernandez, General Manager Tim Flanagan, Senior MRF Operator Leo Martinez, Jr., and Board Chair Dennis Allion. Not pictured: Administrative Support Specialist Ida Gonzales, Site Laborer II Mel Campa, and Site Laborer Kirk Bennett)

Public Hearing for Proposed Temporary C&D Material Fee During MRF Construction. A

Public hearing was held and no comments were received regarding the implementation of a temporary fee for construction and demolition (C&D) material recycling effective February 1, 2017. The Board approved the fee of \$90 per ton, through the end of 2017, for C&D material that will be processed at the Zanker Road Landfill processing facility in San Jose for District customers that require the diversion service and certification.

Election of Officers for 2017. Following the recommendation of the ad hoc Nominating Committee, the Board elected Mayor Bruce Delgado, who represents the City of Marina, as Chair, and Mayor Pro Tem Carrie Theis, who represents the City of Carmel-by-the-Sea, as Vice Chair for calendar year 2017. Congratulations to them and special thank you to outgoing Chair Dennis Allion and Vice Chair Ian Oglesby.

